Answers

Frequently asked questions

What taxes do I pay when selling a property in Spain?

Capital Gains Tax

Capital Gains Tax is a tax levied on the profit made on the sale of a property. The profit is the difference between the registered purchase price (plus incidental costs of acquisition such as land transfer tax, notarial and land registry fees) and the sale price specified in the notarial deed of sale.

Any value or capital enhancing construction activities (eg. construction of a pool, Barbacoa, heating system) can are taken into account on presentation of the relevant invoices.

The percentage of capital gains tax varies for residents and non-residents:

Residents

In 2019 the capital gain taxes for residents up to EUR 6.000: 19%, 21% for EUR 6.000 – 50.000 and with a profit of more than EUR 50.000: 23%

For residents, there are two ways to be exempt from capital gains tax:

  • Residents aged over 65 years who sell their principal residence in which they themselves have lived for the last three years need not pay any capital gains tax.
  • Residents who invest the entire sale price in the purchase of a new property can also be exempted from capital gains tax, provided the property has been their principal residence for at least 3 years. If only a portion of the money will be invested in a new property, the amount of tax due shall be calculated pro-rata.

Non-residents

Non-residents from EU-States, Island and Norway are charged 20% in 2015 of the capital gains tax, in 2016 will be charged 19%. Non-residents from other states (also Switzerland) 24%.

If the seller is not a Spanish resident, the buyer must withhold 3% of the total sale price and pay it to the tax office. This will transfer the deposit to the capital gains tax. The seller is obliged to file a tax return based on the actual capital gain and an additional tax payment or a Client rebate which shall be calculated taking into  account the 3% retained sum. In this regard it is advisable to consult a tax advisor because the Spanish tax authorities check certain parts of this information provided for property sales concerning non-residents and also enforces any subsequent claims by means of administrative assistance from other countries (this includes Germany).

Plusvalía

This tax (land value tax) is charged on the increase in value of the land (suelo valor) from purchase to sale. The calculation of Plusvalía varies from community to community. The amount of financial burden can be queried before sale in the respective municipality (Ayuntamiento), or the SUMA. Basis for calculating the Plusvalía are the cadastral value of the land (Referencia Catastral suelo) between the purchase and sale of the property. The “Referencia Catastral” of your property can be found on the IBI-notification (property tax) or on the bank statement of the last IBI automatic debit.

 

What taxes do I pay when purchasing a property in Spain?

The additional costs when buying property in the Valencian region are about 12% of the purchase value. The costs are made up of the following taxes and fees:

Value Added Tax (VAT)

When you purchase a new-build property directly from builders or a construction company, this will incur Spanish VAT. Value added tax (VAT) on the property is 10% of the registered value in the notary deed (escritura publica).

Real Estate Transfer Tax (ITP – Impuesto sobre Transmisiones Patrimoniales)

If you buy a property from a private person, no VAT will be incurred, but there will be incurred a real estate transfer tax (Impuesto Transmisiones patrimonial, in short ITP). The amount of this tax is calculated differently in the various provinces and is, in the Valencian Community and the Balearic Islands for example, 10%.

The basis of the assessment is the notarised purchase price or – if higher – the known “Valor Real,” which is derived from the cadastral value and a community-specific factor. On this point it is therefore advisable to seek advice prior to purchase on the matter of the actual amount of land transfer tax in order to avoid unpleasant surprises.

Document tax or Impuestos de Actos Juridicos Documentados (AJD)

The documents tax is payable on the acquisition of a new property, as well as on setting up a mortgage to finance the property. The document tax is from 1.2 to 2% of the property value or the mortgage amount.

Notary fees

The purchase contract must be notarized by a notary in Spain in order to be registered in the public land register. The notary fees depend on the value of the property. As a guide, these can be about 0.5 – 1% of the purchase price.

Land registration fees

After the notary contract, the property must be re-registered with the Land Registry. Here, a fee of approximately 0.5% of the purchase price shall be incurred.

Legal and tax advice fees

We recommend that our customers always seek advice from a tax advisor and / or attorney. The advisors will represent your interests and check all documents before purchase so that you can be sure that you will not get any hidden surprises after purchasing the property. In general, the consultation will be approximately 0.5% – 1.5% of the purchase price. When sourcing a reputable and professional advisory body, we are happy to help.

 

What steps are required to buy a property on the Costa Blanca?

If you have found your dream home with us and have reached an agreement with the seller on price, follow these steps

Private pre-contract / reservation contract

In this private pre-contract all the details of the property acquisition is  set and the buyer is usually obliged to  pay a deposit of about 10% of the purchase price. In return, the seller shall take the property off the market.

Please note that under Spanish law this contract great importance. Unlike for example in Germany, acquisition of property can be effected without notarization and subsequent land registration. Whereas in Germany the property can only pass when land registration (known constitutive effect) has taken place, in Spanish law, property can pass at the conclusion of a private written contract. The Land Registry has only a so-called declaratory effect. Therefore, we place great value on creating for our customers legally sound (pre) contracts for the seller and the buyers.

Applying for a VAT number

Each purchaser of a property requires a Spanish tax number – the NIE. This number is required to inform the Spanish tax office of the taxes incurred and also to pay the same. The NIE is applied for at the local police station at the foreigners department. We help our customers apply for this tax number.

Opening a bank account

Payment of the purchase price on acquisition of a property is generally made via a Spanish bank account. Therefore, a bank account in Spain should be opened early on. We are also happy to assist you in this regard.

Public Contract

The so-called public contract (escritura de Compraventa Publication) must be certified by a notary which allows you to record the acquisition in the land register. On signing the notarial contract, the balance of the purchase price will usually be paid by certified bank check and in return, the buyer will receive the keys and thus complete legal ownership.

Payment of all applicable taxes

Following the notarized deed of sale, the new owner is obliged to pay all the necessary taxes. The deadline for this is usually one month after the conclusion of the notarized contract.

Entry into the land register

With the new escritura, the buyer will be registered in the land register as the owner of the property.

 

What annual ancillary costs are there with owning a property in Spain?

With the purchase of a property, the buyer shall incur the following annual additional costs:

Property tax

The property tax (bienes de IBI- Impuesto inmuebles) is a municipal tax payable annually. It is levied on the cadastral value of the property and the province has the right to determine its own multiplier. In most towns and cities, the land tax is due for payment in late September / early October

Comunidad / Urbanisación

If the property belongs to a Community Association, the communal costs incurred shall be split between the member owners. The amount of this allocation is dependent on the size of the community and on maintained community services.

Waste (Basura)

Each owner must pay its share of the municipal waste disposal. In general, the charge is payable in March or April of each year.

Electricity / water / gas / phone

These costs depend on the individual consumption of the owner. We will be happy to help you register with or change to another utility company.

Income tax

Property owners in Spain may be subject to income tax declaration obligations for their property.

For non-residents in Spain this is true in principle! Even for non-rented property, non-residents have to pay tax on a notional rental value. The tax return for this should be submitted by December 31 of the following year and the tax calculated up to this point should be paid. We can gladly nominate a competent tax consulting firm for you to assist with the preparation of this declaration.

 

Since this information is only a summary, which corresponds to the legal position as at January 2015, we strongly recommend that you take professional advice – we do not assume any liability for the content of this information. We are happy to nominate for you a knowledgeable, German, English and Spanish speaking tax advisor to pinpoint your individual needs and takes action in accordance with the Spanish tax legislation.

Antworten

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Welche Steuern muss ich beim Verkauf einer Immobilie in Spanien bezahlen?

Kapitalgewinnsteuer

Die Kapitalgewinnsteuer besteuert den erzielten Gewinn beim Verkauf einer Immobilie. Der Gewinn ist die Differenz zwischen dem beurkundeten Kaufpreis (zuzüglich Nebenkosten des Erwerbs wie bspw. Grunderwerbsteuer, Notar- und Grundbuchkosten) und dem in der notariellen Verkaufsurkunde festgelegten Verkaufspreis.

Eventuelle wert- oder substanzerhöhende Baumassnahmen (bspw. Bau eines Pools, Barbacoa, Heizungsanlage) können bei Vorlage entsprechender Rechnungen berücksichtigt werden.

Der Prozentsatz der Kapitalgewinnsteuer ist für Residenten und Nicht-Residenten unterschiedlich hoch:

Residenten

In 2015 beträgt die Kapitalgewinnsteuer für Residenten bis zu einem Gewinn von EUR 6.000: 20% (ab 2016: 19%), 22% von EUR 6.000 – 50.000 (ab 2016: 21%) und ab einem Gewinn über EUR 50.000 14% (ab 2016: 13%)

Für Residenten gibt es zwei Möglichkeiten von der Kapitalgewinnsteuer befreit zu sein:

  • Residenten über 65 Jahre, die ihren Hauptwohnsitz verkaufen in dem sie selbst mindestens die letzten 3 Jahre gewohnt haben, brauchen keine Kapitalgewinnsteuer bezahlen.
  • Residenten die den gesamten Verkaufspreis in den Kauf einer neuen Immobilie investieren, können ebenfalls von der Kapitalgewinn-steuer befreit werden, vorausgesetzt sie haben mindestens 3 Jahre in der Immobilie ihren Hauptwohnsitz gehabt. Sollte nur ein Teil des Geldes in eine neue Immobilie investiert werden, wird dieses bei der Berechnung der Steuerbelastung anteilig berücksichtigt.

Nicht-Residenten

Nicht-Residenten aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten, Island und Norwegen werden seit 2016 mit 19% des Kapitalgewinns belastet. Nicht-Residenten aus anderen Staaten (auch Schweiz) mit 24%.

Ist der Verkäufer kein spanischer Resident, muss der Käufer 3% des gesamten Verkaufspreises einbehalten und an das Finanzamt abführen. Dies wird als Anzahlung auf die Kapitalgewinnsteuer angerechnet. Der Verkäufer ist verpflichtet eine Steuererklärung über den tatsächlichen Kapitalgewinn zu erstellen und unter Anrechnung des 3%-Einbehaltes ergibt sich daraus eine Steuernachzahlung oder –erstattung. Es ist ratsam sich in dieser Hinsicht von einem Steuerberater beraten zu lassen, da die spanische Finanzverwaltung schwerpunktmäßig die Angaben bei Immobilienverkäufen von Nicht-Residenten überprüft und auch eventuelle Nachforderungen im Wege der Amtshilfe in anderen Ländern (so auch Deutschland) vollstreckt.

Plusvalía

Diese Steuer (Bodenwertzuwachssteuer) belastet die Wertsteigerung des Grundstücks (valor suelo) vom Kauf bis zum Verkauf. Die Berechnung der Plusvalía variiert von Gemeinde zu Gemeinde. Die Höhe der Belastung kann vor Verkauf bei der jeweiligen Gemeinde (Ayuntamiento) oder der SUMA abgefragt werden. Grundlage der Berechnung der Plusvalía sind die Katasterwerte des Grund und Bodens (Referencia Catastral suelo) zwischen Kauf und Verkauf des Objektes. Die „Referencia Catastral“ Ihrer Immobilie findet sich auf dem IBI-Bescheid (Grundsteuer) bzw. auf dem Kontoauszug der letzten automatischen Abbuchung der IBI.

 

Welche Steuern muss ich beim Kauf einer Immobilie in Spanien bezahlen?

Die Nebenkosten beim Kauf einer Immobilie im Bundesland Valencia betragen etwa 12% des Kaufwertes. Sie setzen sich zusammen aus folgenden Steuern und Kosten:

Umsatzsteuer (IVA)

Beim Kauf einer Neubauimmobilie direkt vom Bauherren oder Baugesellschaft fällt in Spanien die Umsatzsteuer an. Die Mehrwertsteuer (IVA) auf eine Immobilie beträgt 10% des beurkundeten Wertes in der Notarurkunde (escritura publica).

Grunderwerbssteuer (ITP – Impuesto sobre Transmisiones Patrimoniales)

Kauft man eine Immobilie von einer Privatperson fällt keine Umsatzsteuer, sondern die Grunderwerbssteuer (Impuesto Transmisiones patrimoniales, kurz ITP) an. Die Höhe dieser Steuer ist in den einzelnen Bundesländern unterschiedlich geregelt und beträgt bspw. in dem Bundesland Valencia und auf den Balearen 10%.

Bemessungsgrundlage ist der beurkundete Kaufpreis oder – wenn dieser höher ist – der sogenannte „Valor Real“, der sich aus dem Katasterwert und einem gemeindespezifischen Faktor ergibt. In diesem Punkt ist also zu empfehlen, sich vor Kauf über die tatsächliche Höhe der Grunderwerbsteuer beraten zu lassen, um keine unangenehmen Überraschungen zu erleben.

Dokumentensteuer oder Impuestos de Actos Juridicos Documentados (AJD)

Die Dokumentensteuer fällt bei Erwerb einer Neubauimmobilie an sowie bei Einrichtung einer Hypothek zur Finanzierung der Immobilie. Die Dokumentensteuer beträgt zwischen 1,2 und 2 % des Immobilienwertes oder des Hypothekenbetrages.

Notargebühren

Der Kaufvertrag muss in Spanien von einem Notar beurkundet sein, um in das öffentliche Grundbuch eingetragen zu werden. Die Notargebühren hängen von dem Wert der Immobilie ab. Als Orientierung können etwa 0,5 – 1% des Kaufpreises dienen.

Grundbucheintragungsgebühren

Nach dem Notarvertrag muss die Immobilie im Grundbuchamt neu registriert werden. Hierbei fallen Gebühren von ca. 0,5% des Kaufpreises an.

Anwalts- und Steuerberatungskosten

Wir empfehlen unseren Kunden grundsätzlich, sich von einem Steuerberater und/oder Anwalt beraten zu lassen. Diese werden ihre Interessen vertreten und alle Dokumente bereits vor Erwerb überprüfen, so dass Sie sicher gehen können, dass keine versteckten Überraschungen nach dem Immobilenkauf auf Sie zukommen. In der Regel betragen die der Beratung ca. 0,5% – 1,5% des Kaufpreises. Bei der Beschaffung einer seriösen und kompetenten Beratungsstelle sind wir gerne behilflich.

 

Welche Schritte sind notwendig um eine Immobilie an der Costa Blanca zu kaufen?

Haben Sie ihre Traumimmobilie mit uns zusammen gefunden und sind sich mit dem Verkäufer über den Preis einig geworden, folgen diese Schritte

Privater Vorvertrag / Reservierungsvertrag

In diesem privaten Vorvertrag werden alle Einzelheiten des Immobilienerwerbes  festgelegt und der Käufer hat in der Regel die Verpflichtung,  eine Anzahlung von ca. 10% des Kaufpreises zu leisten. Im Gegenzug nimmt der Verkäufer die Immobilie vom Markt.

Beachten Sie bitte, dass nach spanischem Recht diesem Vertrag große Bedeutung zukommt: anders als bspw. in Deutschland kann der Eigentumserwerb auch ohne notarielle Beurkundung und anschließende Grundbucheintragung erfolgen. Während in Deutschland das Eigentum erst bei Grundbucheintragung (sogenannte konstitutive Wirkung) übergeht, kann dieses nach spanischem Recht bereits bei Abschluss eines privatschriftlichen Vertrages erfolgen. Die Grundbucheintragung hat nur eine sogenannte deklaratorische Wirkung. Daher legen wir für unsere Kunden einen sehr großen Wert auf die Erstellung eines für den Verkäufer und den Käufer rechtssicheren (Vor-)vertrages.

Beantragung der Steuernummer

Jeder Käufer einer Immobilie benötigt eine spanische Steuernummer – die NIE. Diese Nummer wird benötigt, um die anfallenden Steuern beim spanischen Finanzamt zu erklären und zu bezahlen. Die NIE wird bei der örtlichen Polizeistelle mit Ausländerabteilung beantragt. Wir helfen unseren Kunden gerne, diese Steuernummer zu beantragen.

Eröffnung eines Bankkontos

Die Kaufpreisabwicklung bei Erwerb einer Immobilie erfolgt in der Regel über ein spanisches Bankkonto. Daher sollte frühzeitig ein Bankkonto in Spanien eröffnet werden. Dabei sind wir ebenfalls gerne behilflich.

Öffentlicher Vertrag

Der sogenannte öffentliche Vertrag (Escritura Publica de Compraventa) wird durch einen Notar beurkundet und dient der Eintragung des Erwerbs in das Grundbuch. Bei der Unterzeichnung des notariellen Vertrages wird in der Regel der Restbetrag des Kaufpreises per bankbestätigtem Scheck bezahlt und im Gegenzug erhält der Käufer die Schlüssel und somit das komplette rechtliche Eigentum.

Bezahlung aller anfallenden Steuern

Im Anschluss an den notariellen Kaufvertrag ist der neue Eigentümer verpflichtet, alle notwendigen Steuern zu bezahlen. Die Frist hierfür beträgt in der Regel einen Monat nach Abschluss des notariellen Vertrages.

Eintrag ins Grundbuch

Mit der neuen Escritura wird der Käufer nun im Grundbuch als Eigentümer der Immobilie eingetragen.

 

Welche jährlichen Nebenkosten sind mit dem Besitz einer Immobilie in Spanien verbunden?

Mit dem Erwerb einer Immobilie kommen auf den Käufer folgende jährliche Nebenkosten zu:

Grundsteuer

Die Grundsteuer (IBI- Impuesto de bienes inmuebles) ist eine jährlich zu zahlende kommunale Abgabe. Sie wird auf den Katasterwert der Immobilie erhoben und jede Gemeinde hat das Recht, einen eigenen Hebesatz festzulegen. In den meisten Gemeinden und Städten ist die Grundsteuer Ende September/Anfang Oktober zur Zahlung fällig.

Comunidad/ Urbanisación

Gehört die Immobilie einer Eigentümergemeinschaft an, werden die entstehenden Gemeinschaftskosten auf die Mitglieder umgelegt. Die Höhe dieser Umlage ist abhängig von der Größe der Gemeinschaft und der zu pflegenden Gemeinschaftsangebote.

Abfallentsorgung (Basura)

Jeder Eigentümer muss seinen Anteil an der kommunalen Müllentsorgung zahlen. In der Regel erfolgt die Belastung in den Monaten März oder April eines jeden Jahres.

Strom / Wasser / Gas / Telefon

Diese Kosten hängen vom individuellen Verbrauch des Eigentümers ab. Bei den erforderlichen An- und Ummeldungen der Versorgungsunternehmen sind wir Ihnen gerne behilflich.

Einkommenssteuer

Immobilieneigentümer in Spanien unterliegen gegebenenfalls der Einkommensteuererklärungspflicht für ihr Eigentum.

Für Nicht-Residenten in Spanien gilt das grundsätzlich! Auch für nicht vermietete Immobilien hat der Nicht-Resident einen fiktiven Mietwert zu versteuern. Die Steuererklärung hierüber ist bis zum 31. Dezember des Folgejahres einzureichen und die ermittelte Steuer bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt zu entrichten. Eine kompetente Steuerberatungsgesellschaft für die Erstellung der Erklärung können wir Ihnen gerne benennen.

 

Da es sich bei diesen Informationen nur um eine Zusammenfassung handelt, die dem Rechtsstand per Januar 2015 entspricht, empfehlen wir dringend, sich professionellen Beistand zu nehmen – wir übernehmen keine Gewährleistung für den Inhalt dieser Informationen. Gern benennen wir Ihnen einen sachkundigen, deutschs-, englisch und spanischprachigen Steuerberater, der Ihre individuellen Belange mit Ihnen zusammen ermittelt und entsprechend der spanischen Steuergesetzgebung umsetzt.